Open Streets

Please join Families for Safe Streets in commemorating World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims. Together, as those who have been personally impacted by crashes, we will join street safety organizations, community members, faith leaders, elected officials, and dignitaries from across the country and globe to
REMEMBER, SUPPORT, and ACT.


2020 marks 25 years of commemorating this event, and 15 years since it was recognized by the United Nations.
Each year, 1.35 million people are killed around the world in traffic crashes.
Over 100 Americans are killed every single day and millions more are injured each year.
Families for Safe Streets is offering a range of in-person and virtual events both on World Day of Remembrance and in the weeks leading up to it. Due to COVID, all in-person events are meant to be conducted with limited attendance and with adherence to physical distancing.

Together we can amplify the heartbreaking cost of traffic crashes and the urgent need for change.**

Tribute from Zoleka Mandela, granddaughter of the late President Nelson Mandela, author, global advocate and road safety campaigner.
Zoleka campaigns in memory of her daughter Zenani Mandela, who was killed in a road crash in Johannesburg at age 13.

National Events

You Can Do This: Manage Speed for Safety
October 23
1:45pm EST / 10:45am PST
Prioritizing safety over speed is as much a matter of political will as practical know-how. Join Leah Shahum of the Vision Zero Network for a practical webinar featuring the voices of those who are leading the way.

The Power of Our Stories
October 27
7:00pm EST / 4:00pm PST
A supportive workshop for those who have been personally impacted by a crash on the importance of sharing our personal narratives - Plus an opportunity to participate in a national FSS story-sharing initiative. No story sharing, writing or other experience necessary.

Faith Leader Forum / Sermon for Safe Streets Training
November 9
1:00pm EST / 10:00am PST
A virtual training to help faith leaders use their pulpits, prayers and programming to memorialize those who've been killed in local neighborhoods - and to remind communities that we are all responsible for each other and must slow down, pay attention and support solutions that save lives.

Twitter for Safe Streets Tutorial
November 9
4:00pm EST / 1:00pm PST
Twitter can be a powerful tool for advancing our grassroots organizing online. Join us for this tutorial to review the basics and make sure you’re in good shape to participate in our World Day of Remembrance
Twitter Town Hall and other advocacy work.

Twitter Town Hall
November 10
2:00pm EST / 11:00am PST
Join us on Twitter to call attention to the epidemic of traffic violence and its known solutions.
#EndTrafficViolence #SpeedKills #WDoR2020

Creating Found Object Mandalas
November 12
7:30pm EST / 4:30pm PST
Join art psychotherapist and FSS founding member, Debbie Marks Kahn, MS, ATR-BC, LCAT in creating Found Object Mandalas using a meditative practice to remember and honor those we've lost and those who've been injured in crashes. No experience necessary.

Local Events Nationwide
November 15
Check our chapter list to find an event taking place near you!

Candle Lighting Vigil
November 15
8:00pm EST / 5:00pm PST
Those who have been personally impacted by crashes will join together for a virtual candlelighting.

All events are virtual — please click links to RSVP for login details. EST/PST are only listed for simplicity, but participants from across the country are all invited and encouraged to join!

Local Events

Atlanta
Austin/Central Texas
Boise
Boston
Champaign-Urbana
Charlotte
Chicago
Cleveland
Denver
Eugene/Springfield
Kansas City
Los Angeles/Southern California
Nashville
New Haven
New Jersey
New York City
Philadelphia
Pittsburgh
Richmond
San Francisco
San Jose
St. Paul
Tampa
Tempe
Toronto

Details coming soon for chapters without links.

Want to plan an event in your community or help us spread the word about our virtual events?
Please fill out this form so we can share event information and resources.

Our Personal Stories

Coming Soon!

Open Streets

Speed Kills

SPEED KILLS: LOWER SPEEDS SAVE LIVES
This year, Families for Safe Streets’ WDoR focus is to confront the complacency around speeding and to call for rapid implementation of speed management solutions such as lower speed limits, automated enforcement, designing streets to manage speeds and more. Dangerous speeds, when coupled with distracted or drunk driving are particularly deadly. Traffic crash survivors and victim families demand safe cars and safe roads.

Forty thousand Americans are killed in traffic crashes every single year and millions suffer life altering injuries (NSC). Speed influences both the risk of a crash as well as the severity of the injuries that result from crashes. The higher the speed of a vehicle, the shorter the time a driver has to stop and avoid a crash (WHO). For more than two decades, speeding has been involved in approximately one-third of all motor vehicle fatalities (NHTSA). And speeding can be particularly dangerous when distracted or drunk driving is also involved.

The difference in speed is particularly deadly for pedestrians (ProPublica).

Open Streets

Traffic violence is an epidemic that we already have the vaccine for. In this moment when we are looking at hundreds of thousands of preventable deaths from disease we see the corollaries to traffic violence. Some of our public health depts have largely proven that we are capable of acting on a dime - and taking dramatic measures to protect people's lives. Our capacity is clear. We just need the will.

The problem is how we build our roads and our cars. Both are built for speed not safety. We build roads straight and wide even though we know it induces speeding. We build cars to go 300 MPH even though speed limits are a fraction of that.

Sermons for Safe Streets

Open Streets

Sadly, the epidemic of traffic crashes is one that unites us all. People of every faith, neighborhood, race, class, gender, age, ability and political affiliation are hit personally by this issue.

We invite all faith leaders to use their pulpits, prayers and programming to remind communities that
we are all part of the solution.

Take the "Crash Not Accident" Pledge

Open Streets

Traffic crashes are fixable problems, caused by dangerous streets and unsafe drivers.
They are not accidents. Pledge to stop using the word "accident" today.

Open Streets

Families for Safe Streets (FSS) confronts the epidemic of traffic violence by advocating for life-saving changes and providing support to those who have been impacted by crashes. Comprised of individuals who have been injured or lost loved ones, FSS was founded in 2014 in New York City and is growing as a national movement with chapters across the country.

info@familiesforsafestreets.org
(844) 377-7337